The Bone Song is Wrong

WATCH THE VIDEO….

This is a song many children learn in their elementary ed gym class. You probably learned it at one point in your education too, am I right?  But sorry to break it to all you intellectuals out there, but you’ve been taught wrong. Very wrong. 

For the last year, I have volunteered around 32 hours in the Anatomy Lab. I am a Teaching Assistant for the Anatomy Cadaver Lab here at Central Michigan University. A lot of my friends ask why I volunteer my time to go teach freshman anatomy every Monday and Wednesday from 9:30 am to 10:45 am. And here’s the answer….

  1. It’s helped to expand my knowledge of the human body immensely as well as keep the info fresh in my brain. This is important for many reasons. In June, I will start applying to Physical Therapy graduate programs. Knowing the structure and function of the body and being able to recall that info without much thought it important for success as a Physical Therapist. Thus, keeping my anatomy knowledge fresh as well as expanding on it is benefitting my future.
  2. I think it’s freaking awesome to be able to see an actual heart, brain, lungs, etc. Then again that is what makes me the person I am.
  3. Connections and friendships. I worked with two outstanding Graduate Assistants that have provided me with so much knowledge and advice. I’ve also been able to  work closely with Professor Salt who has helped me in so many ways on my way  to reach my Grad School goals. Also, making friends with similar interests and are enrolled in some of the same classes is always nice too.
  4. I like to help others learn. Anatomy is an important class for anyone going into the health field. Understanding the structure and function of the human body is key. It is something that must be understood for success in almost any career in the health and/or medical field. Being able to help students achieve this understanding is something I enjoy. 

In fact, today I interviewed to become an official Anatomy Lab Teaching Assistant rather than a volunteer one. 

Leave a Reply

