“It’s a requirement”

As a college student, I hear professors and advisors often say “It’s a r-e-q-u-i-r-e-m-e-n-t. You must do it.” Sometimes these requuiemtns are things that I dread. For  example, having to take Organic Chemistry and Physics next semester. But hey, orgo can’t be as bad as it’s portrayed in the movies right?  IMG_2518 (1)

One of the main  reasons I chose Central Michigan University was because of an amazing opportunity I was offered. I was offered the opportunity to compete in the  Leader Advancement Scholar Competition  Day. The LAS scholarship is an honor and I was lucky enough to be selected along with 4o other students out of a pool of over 2000 applicants to be offered the schoarship. The scholarship  is based off of character, leadership, community and school involvement. My LAS cohort has become my family here at Central. The schoalrhsip reward applies to all four year of my undergraduate years here at CMU. In order to ensure that I continue to recieve the scholarhsip reward there are, yes I’m sure you know what I am going to say, requirements. The requirements are nothing crazy! I have to maintain a good GPA, (being a nerd, this isn’t a problem lol), along with completing certain classes, leadership experiences and volunteer hours.

I’m going to talk about the volunteer hours specifically because I feel like people often feel  that volunteering isn’t fun and think of it more as a chore than a good way to spend their time. I personally LOVE volunteering. Throughout highschool I volunteered at least 3-5 hours a week. When I got to college, this number dereased. But I thank LAS for making it a reuirements  because it forced me to find the time to fit volunteering into my schedule And like I mentioned earlier, I LOVE it.

This year however, I’ve been slacking. To be completly honest, I kind of forgot that I had to do required hours for LAS until a fellow LASer mentioned in class that our volunteer reflection was due April 1st. So here I am, writing this reflection  with only half of my voluntter hours done. BUT, on April 9th I will be completing these hours by volunteering and participating in Relay For Life. I am very excited for this because Relay For Life is a big event at CMU and in many other places and I have never been able to participate. Despite  all the great things I have heard from people about Relay, I have never actually volunteered at it and this year will be  my first time. I was lucy enough to get this opportunity by being apart of the CMU Pre-PT Club. Through them I chose to be apaprt of the planning commitee and help to plan what out RSO will be doing for the event.

My other hours came from volunteering in the Special Olympics Lead Team in the spring. This was a great opporunity and volunteering with SOMI is something I always look  forward to. Today, I actually signed up to volunteer at the Special Olympics Michigan Summer Games that CMU hosts every June.

Leave a Reply

