LAS Competition Day: I spy future mentees

IMG_9661

A few weeks ago was LAS Competition Day. As an LAS Freshmen I was beyond excited to meet potential incoming LAS freshman. Competition Day was like Christmas for me. I was beyond excited to see what the day would hold.

Being on the other side of Competition Day was a beneficial experience. As current LAS we are excited to meet the students. However, it was important for us to remember that they are extremely nervous, and that they were here competing for their future.

At the end of the day a student’s parents approached me and personally thanked me for all that I had done for them throughout the day. They had mentioned that the conversation I had with their son at lunch made him feel extremely welcomed and more excited than nervous to be competing for the Leader Advancement Scholar. This was a great feeling. I had no idea that a simple conversation could help some so immensely.

I cannot wait to meet the LAS Class of 2015 and welcome them into the LAS family.

Leave a Reply

