Alpha Leadership

image4

As part of our Leader Advancement Scholar protocol, we are required to participate in Alpha Leadership. Alpha is a 6 week long free leadership development program available to any and all CMU students. It is directed and vacillated by trained student volunteers.

During Alpha, students participate in activities that cover team building, problem solving as well as simulation activities that open up your eyes to everyday problems. The two main simulation activities put light on the both treatment of students with cognitive and physical disabilities through having students participate in an activity ran by the David Garcia Project and a group activity relating to acceptance of people who are different than you. I really loved participating in these two specific activities. They were greatly beneficial to me and really opened my eyes.

When I signed up for Alpha, I really only did it because it was required. However, after the first two sessions, I found that I was starting to look forward to 6pm every Thursday which is when Alpha was. Alpha ended up being extremely more fun and beneficial to me than I had originally anticipated. I would greatly recommend it to anyone. It was great meeting students who were not directly involved with the Leadership Institute but held leadership positions all over campus as well as who shared a love for leadership.

image6

Following Alpha Leadership, I will take the benefits I gained from the two simulation activities and apply them to every day life. I won’t be quick to judge when people are different than I. I will listen to their perspectives, offer to help and not be quick to judge. I plan on continue to participate in more program such as Alpha in order to help develop my leadership skills.

Leave a Reply

